Though some use vegan and plant-based interchangeably, they actually can be quite different.
In an organic nutshell all vegans have plant-based diets, but not all plant-based diets are vegan. Though some use vegan and plant-based interchangeably, they actually can be quite different.
The vegan diet restricts all animal products – meaning, no meat, dairy or eggs. Some vegans also refrain from eating honey as it is produced by an animal. Instead, those on the diet focus on eating whole grains, fruits, vegetables and legumes. Processed foods, sugars, oils and other foods not contained animal products are also allowed in the diet.
Being vegan can also influence lifestyle choice as many following the restrictive diet also abstain from using leather products or wearing fur or other products made using animal byproducts.
Another version of the plant-based diet is “whole foods plant-based,” which may include eggs or another form of animal protein.
Meanwhile, a plant-based diet follows a similar focus – whole grains, fruits, vegetables and legumes making up the bulk of what one eats. Though, those following may include eggs and dairy products, or sometimes seafood, poultry or other meat.
“Some people use ‘plant-based’ and ‘vegan’ interchangeably, while others use ‘plant-based’ simply to indicate a diet that consists mostly but not exclusively of plants,” PETA President Ingrid Newkirk said to Fox News.
“Many meals can be ‘plant-based,’ but a vegan meal contains no meat, dairy, eggs, or honey, and going vegan involves using and supporting nothing for which animals suffer,” she added.
Another version of the plant-based diet is “whole foods plant-based,” which, similarly, may include eggs or another form of animal protein, as well as focusing largely on vegetables and fruits, but also avoids oils and processed foods.
As the labelling can be tricky, it is advised to check the ingredients list of foods if you are vegan or following a restrictive diet to ensure it complies.